RSS Feed

Do you know Cool Girl?

Posted on

http://dreadlockme.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/6.jpg

I do!  Well, we ain’t tight or anything, but we do acknowledge each other with the nod at the gym, and share a step from time to time.  Anyway,  Today I would like to write a tribute to Cool Girl.  Do you know her?  She’s that girl at the gym with the rockin’ bod, and dreads that ACTUALLY look good on her.  She drives that cool car: https://i1.wp.com/brockandbecca.com/files/fj/Wallpaper/Blue_FJ_Right_1600x1200.jpg

And, she can lift the COOL weights . . .

https://i0.wp.com/crossfitimpulse.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/barbell.jpg

And all of this makes her who she is: Cool Girl.  And when you look at her, you might think like I did, “Yeah, I could be cool like that too, if I didn’t:”

Have kids.

Have a demanding job.

Have real responsibilities.

But, sadly, right when you think this, you “happen to” look as she is getting in her cool car,  (Ok, let’s be real, you intentionally look, because by this time you are in full on stalker mode), and you see the most devastating thing in her back seat:

https://i1.wp.com/www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/attachments/general-discussion/43157d1305077896-babies-fjs-p5100907.jpg

And, it is at THIS moment when you automatically feel like: CRAP!

Hahaha, the joke is on me! Yep, Cool Girl is a . . . wait for it, no really wait for it, because I don’t want to know this and neither do you, if you’re like me . . . but, we might as well come out with it and face reality . . .

Cool Girl is a: MOM!

What?!  Hold the Phone!  NOooooo!  Say it isn’t so, Bob!!!  You mean to tell me some people can be Cool, smokin’ Hot, AND have responsibilities?????

I don’t believe it . . . No, I refuse to believe it!  Ok, I have to believe it.  Today, I found out her name (I overheard her say it to someone else) , so she is REAL people, really real!  I have told my husband about her on several occasions, making comments like, “Yeah, Cool Girl was at the gym today, so I had to step it up a notch.”  He’s is starting to worry I’m becoming Cool Girl’s stalker.

I’m not, I promise!  I just admire her, and even more than that she INSPIRES me!  I want to Do More, Be More, and Push it harder when she’s around.  Because she is soooo cool!

There is nothing wrong with that . . . I promise! 🙂

So, do you know Cool Girl? 

Now, don’t get this confused with Stuck UP, Perfect Girl, no this is NOT the same girl . . . I wanna know, do you know Cool Girl?  That Girl that INSPIRES you to do more and be more, but doesn’t make you feel like you’re less because of where you are now?

Who is YOUR Cool Girl?

What is SHE like? Better yet, are YOU Cool Girl? Because the truth is we all personify something. What are you presenting the world with everyday, just by being you? Because, one thing I have learned is that people are ALWAYS watching! That being said, what image are you portraying?

Are you Cool Girl? Mean Girl? Snotty Girl? Relaxed Girl? Adventuresome Girl? Nice Girl? The list goes on (and can be interchanged with “boy” 😉 )

Just remember that your life makes a difference not only in your world, but also in someone else’s everyday!

10 responses »

  1. The coolest girl I know is named Julie. She inspires me every day and I love reading what she rights. She masterfully handles her life and all those kiddos and every time I think of HER I am in awe. Ya, she’s the coolest chick in town. 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’ve been thinking about this since you posted! Who is my “cool girl?” I have so many people I love, respect, admire, strive to emulate some of their particular qualities…I kind of like taking the best from a lot of people to inspire me. But I do want to say one thing, that photo of whoever that is, is stunning! Unfortunately, the image I project, well, I am always just me. Good enough!

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh yes, I know what you mean! I have lots of people to look to also! But, I think an easier way to look at this is to say, who do we look to for different things? In other words, this “cool girl” I was talking about doesn’t even know my name (that I know of)… we are on a facial recognition level only, so the fact that she has ANY influence over me at all was what really inspired the whole post for me. I have those girls in my life that I would think of as “Coffee Girl,” “long chat on the phone girl,” “Healthy Friend Girl,” “Comfy Girl,” etc. etc.

      But, as you said, that pic really makes you think “stunning” or “cool” and although it’s not an actual picture of the real “Cool Girl” it’s the closest thing I could find to even come close to depicting what she looks like.

      All of that to say, there are people in our lives that teach us things, mold us, leave lasting impressions, and also those that make us that just make us think. This girl is just an example of the person that I barely know that has made me think, and I guess I kinda hope I can be that person to someone else. The truth of the matter is that we are always watching people and they are always watching us too, so it just goes to show that we can send a message without ever really even saying anything.

      You say you are “just me,” and that may be true for you. But, you are “Super Courageous Step Out the Box Homeschool Doctor Mom Girl” to me, and I’m sure to more than a few others! So, I guess that’s what I was getting at. Seeing what others bring to the table and then letting them know (I may have to let Cool Girl know she’s Cool Girl in a non-creepy, non-stalkerish kinda way too)… I hope this wasn’t too scatter brained for you to follow the logic (if any)…lol!

      Thanks for stopping by and letting me know you were thinking about it too!!

      Like

      Reply
  3. I love to see what others bring to the table! All true.

    Like

    Reply
    • 🙂 By the way, I told my husband about your comment of “just me” and then told him the title of your blog, and he was like, “What?!??” I then told him a very brief synopsis about your journey from full time doctor to full time educator (aka, mom), and he was like, “Wow, that’s brave!!” I love that other people’s stories can have such a great impact on us as a whole! Anyway, here I am being long -winded again, lol…have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
      • Do you share “blogging nuggets” with your husband, too? I sure do! By the way, I love your writing style! As much as I loved helping people in medicine, the hassle for our family was too tense. I don’t feel brave, actually, I feel “weak.” But no matter, we are very happy and content. We are having a nice week, and I hope you do too!

        Like

        Reply
        • Yes, I do! Lol… And thank you for saying that, and I could say the same about you! I actually enjoy writing now and find it to be a great escape sometimes! (I’m sure you know the feeling)

          As far as feeling weak, I often feel the same way. In a way, it was probably “easier” dealing with patients all day, or going to school (for me), than being home wondering if you’re “doing it right” with your kids. It’s harder emotionally when you think about the fact that what we’re doing in homeschooling our littles will affect their future (ie. We can’t blame anyone else, lol). It’s kinda scary for me sometimes, but then you see good results and know what you’re doing is “working.”

          Either way, he’s right, you’re brave! You left what was second nature to you (doctoring) to do what may have been “third nature,” (teaching) at least that was the case with me (maybe 5th nature)…lol!

          So, look at yourself and own it! You’re Brave!

          Glad your week is going well! We are finally getting some cooler weather, so it has been nice here too!

          Like

          Reply

Comments

