RSS Feed

going Somewhere?

Posted on

Hello Again!

The following entry comes from today!  It is taken from two different passages (Deuteronomy 13: 12-17 CEV & Psalms 115:1-8 ESV), relating to the same thing: Idols.

For the sake of space, I’m only going to quote Psalm 115: 1-8, so please go back and read the other verses for clarity if you need to!

(Here is a link to the online source I use to read / listen to the Bible: https://www.youversion.com/sign-up?redirect=%2F)

Recap:

As a brief overview… in Deuteronomy Moses was talking to the people, advising them that if any choose to go astray and worship other “gods,” that they are to be stoned to death, regardless of who they are.  Picking up in the Psalms:

1 Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness!

2 Why should the nations say, “Where is their God?”

3 Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases.

4 Their idols are silver and gold, the work of human hands.

5 They have mouths, but do not speak; eyes, but do not see.

6 They have ears, but do not hear; noses, but do not smell.

7 They have hands, but do not feel; feet, but do not walk; and they do not make a sound in their throat.

8 Those who make them become like them; so do all who trust in them.

Ok, so what I’m getting here is that God despises all idols, and the people who ascribe to them.  They are despicable to Him, which makes you want to go, “Duh!” Right?! But, for some reason I’m seeing something new in these verses about idols, which I never saw before.

Let me explain, I’ve always understood “idols” to mean, “Anything in my life that takes me away from God… Anything that I spend more time with than God… Anything that takes precedence over God or His word in my life.”  Merriam Webster defines idol, as an “object of devotion.

In which case, I stand guilty of serving many idols- whether they be school, entertainment, children, friends, etc. the list can go on and on.  I have asked God to forgive me of this, and especially of my so-called, “innocent” addictions, such as facebook, Words with Friends, and even reading…you get the point.

WOW! But how true is His word when it says in verse 8: “Those who make them [idols] become like them; so do all who trust in them.”

Imagine that!  The idolator becomes “like an idol,” and in effect, becomes “idle.”  According to MW again: IdleInactive; spend time doing nothing; worthless; lazy.

Essentially, we / they (whoever you so choose to identify with), become unmoving … immovable.

That’s GOOD Somebody!

Have you ever felt like you had hands, yet you could not feel? Eyes, but you weren’t able to “see” what was right in front of you… the bigger picture?  Ears, but unable to hear that still, small voice of God in your life?  Feet that seem resolute to remain planted?  Or, a voice that no matter what, would NEVER be heard?

Good News:

In Christ, we are given: Purpose.  We are given a Mission.  We are given a Voice.  However, when we stop pursuing Him – our first love, that is – we move farther away from Him… we become, in essence, LESS real.

We become planted in the familiar, in the comfortable, in the seemingly “fun” world around us.  But, we are reminded in Hebrews 11: 25 that “sin is only fun for a season.”

So, while we are having “fun” ignoring God, the enemy is slowly tying our hands behind our backs, gently placing shackles on our feet, quietly setting a muzzle across our mouths, and discreetly putting a blindfold over our eyes.  Whispering the whole time, his cunning lies into our unguarded ears.

Eventually, we become so sedentary, we are as useless as a man-made idol (of wood, if you please).  We lose our purpose – our friendship with our one, true friend – our relationship with our beloved creator, Abba Father.

Just think about it a minute… how upset or hurt do we get when our loved ones, especially our “better halves,” choose NOT to pursue us… when they choose other things, activities, friends, or even work over us – we feel like, “Second Best.”

What is taking FIRST place in Your life?

Is God’s heart aching over your lack of perseverance in pursing Him?

Yes, sometimes (Oh, heck… MOST of the time, if I’m honest) it can be a struggle to FIND time (as if it’s lost…. another topic for another day… lol) to read His Word & Sometimes we read it, at least I do, so fast we get no meaning out of it at all – just the satisfaction of checking that little box off in our daily reading plan for that day.

How do you feel when your significant other is too busy to spend time with you or finds it too tiresome to connect with you in meaningful ways?  How hurtful is it when they just go through the motions with you…trying to appease you with a substitute of themselves? (You know… when their body is present, but they are quite far away)  Go ahead … Think about it.

We are made in the Image of Almighty God.

So, if you had to be honest … are you hurting God’s heart?  Are you forcing Him to literally BEG for your attention / affection today… or are you giving Him your best?!

Sadly, I’ve been in that first category too many times to count!  But, by God’s grace and compassion, He did seek me out and begged for my attention – When I finally {reluctantly, even} gave it all to Him – He made me ALIVE, AWAKE, and REAL again!

Question:

I’m ALIVE today… how about You?

*Original Spanish inspiration:

SALMO 115: 1-8 (TLA):

1Tú mereces alabanzas, Dios nuestro, y no nosotros; tú mereces alabanzas por tu amor y tu fidelidad.

2 Las otras naciones preguntan en son de burla: «¿Qué pasó con su Dios?»

3 Pero tú estás en el cielo, y haces todo lo que quieres!

4 Los ídolos de esas naciones son objetos de oro y plata; ¡son hechura humana!

5 ¿Y qué es lo que tienen? Una boca que no habla, y ojos que no ven;

6 orejas que no oyen, y narices que no huelen;

7 manos que no tocan, y pies que no andan; garganta tienen, ¡pero no emiten ningún sonido!

8 Iguales a esos ídolos son quienes los hacen y quienes confían en ellos.

7 responses »

  1. Again… wow! I often find my self checking boxes… sigh, being present and real takes effort and time and intention

    Like

    Reply
  2. And woohoo… posting worked 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Love it! Thanks for reminding me whose I am and not to be idle!

    Like

    Reply
    • No problem! Thanks for commenting! I have to be reminded daily, myself! I had never realized that the majority of the time I was being “idle” was from serving an “idol”…whatever that may look like. As Jes commented earlier: it takes effort, time, and intention…I couldn’t agree more in that if we want our relationship to be REAL with Him, we have to treat it as if it IS real!

      Like

      Reply
      • Boy howdy on that! I love the comparison between the ‘idol’ and being ‘idle.’ (Just thought I’d throw my two-cents’ worth in here)

        Like

        Reply
        • I know! It was the first time I had seen that comparison too! It really opened my eyes to an old spiritual truth in a new way, which has kinda been the theme of this Spanish-Bible-reading-journey for me! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your “two-cents” behind!! Also…was “Boy Howdy” one of the terms you learned from you ff? Never heard that one either…maybe because I have been living under a rock or maybe because I didn’t grow up in your neck of the woods…lol…either way…loving it!!

          Like

          Reply

Comments

